Eat Subway Save Chuck!

27 04 2010

This is a follow-up to this post, and I have to say that I am incredibly grateful for a post idea; I’ve been running on fumes lately.  Way to be, Meg (not Meg Whitman).

When Chuck started the Eat Subway, Save Chuck campaign and shilling for the chain in their episodes, I thought it was a little hokey and a little too selling out.  However, Chuck did a great job of acknowledging their reliance on Subway which made me appreciate their honesty much more than the subtleties of shows with absurd amounts of product placement (I’m looking at you, Gilmore Girls*).  Chuck’s 2nd and 3rd seasons were also reminiscent of Arrested Development’s overt plea to viewers to get more people to watch the show with the “Save our Bluths” campaign and the Burger King sponsorship.

Sadly, the executives at Fox couldn’t remove their craniums from their sphincters in order to renew the series.  Instead they brought us these gems.

In the battle between product placement and overt sponsorship, I am going to have to go with sponsorship.   It just seems more honest and forthright, and then people will buy your product because they believe in the cause not because it’s what Lorelai would do.

And Subway, I would buy a footlong because of Chuck and not because of your catchy jingle.

*I can’t find an article with all of the examples I can think of so here is my list:  Rice Krispies, Pop-Tarts, Motorola Side Kick, Jeep, Paul Newman, Zima, Jose Cuervo, Toyota Prius – really now?  It was ridiculous, and I love your show.

Actions

Information

One response

28 04 2010
Meg C

Glad to help. And, my ringtone is one of the “la la la la laaa” songs they use between scenes. You’d love it. the 7 people studying in HAL very early this morning did not. But whatever I work here my phone can ring if it wants to.

Totally off point. But PS I like that we both blog – I feel like we’re friends again!

Leave a Reply

